Is OpenWrt right for a user like me?

My skill level is "i run custom ROMs on my personal devices, take a number of privacytoolsIO measures, and i'm a casual linux mint noob".

What I want is a home network that has an ad-blocking solution. I also want to put my work devices on a subnetwork.

Can I do this with an OpenWRT device, and have a set-it-and-forget-it solution? I simply am not a developer, not a network admin, and I wish not to overestimate my skills.

Although I DO want to learn, I don't want to kid myself about the lifestyle cost of being a noob running OpenWRT.

My subnet goals can be achieved independent of OpenWRT, adblock goals can be achieved with a piHole, and addressing all goals with an OpenWRT learning curve added on may be something i should be careful not to take lightly.

• Should i cut my teeth on a Raspberry Pi (piHole), first?
  • If it tips the scale, my home router is OpenWRT supported.
  • Any warnings for a newcomer like me?

Yes.

Not really, security updates (such as following maintenance releases) are mandatory for network connected devices, especially routers.

While a RPi4 (not the previous versions) might provide some benefits for advanced users in search for high-performance routing, I would not recommend it as your first exposure to OpenWrt. With a well supported router, you have the basics working straight away (configure your WAN, set up your wireless - done, adblock and a second vlan are only marginally more complex). The RPi however lacks those 'basic' hardware features (and its WLAN capabilities are bad, just really bad), so you have to work around these limitations (VLAN, additional USB network cards, an external solution for the WLAN) to achieve your goals. While neither of these are particularly problematic (for an advanced user familiar with OpenWrt), it is quite a lot for your first OpenWrt device, especially as you have to get all that working on day one, to get it do anything sensible.