Is OpenWrt for me? (for dedicated router only)

Hi. Networking and openwrt noob here.

I just wanted to know the consensus here--if openwrt indeed is not for me--before I finally go for the typical consumer WiFi router, or the "simpler" router-only TP-Link ER605 or TL-R605.

I'm looking for a budget dedicated router at around USD 60. (Our total budget is actually USD 150 for both router and AP, 1 piece each.)

I'm also considering MikroTik/RouterOS (hEX, hEX S, hEX Gr3, or hAP ac2), but a couple of people discouraged me on that because according to them I need to be "really computer network literate". Mikrotik, they say, is harder to work with, compared with openwrt. (I'm aware that openwrt can be flashed on some of them.)

I need a router that's impossible for me to brick due to my lack of skills. We also get occasional unannounced power outages and I need it to not brick when that happens while, say, the firmware is in the process of updating or whatnot.

Is there an easy way to identify whether a device is un-brickable? For example, someone told me that Newifi D2 is un-brickable because it's on "breed bootloader"--is that it?

I imagine that the flashing part is what I'm scared of the most, that's why I'm also considering Mikrotik/RouterOS.

Basically I just want to have a stable internet connection and setup, something I could hopefully set and forget and wouldn't have to fiddle with all the time.

I am on Linux Mint and although I can follow instructions and do a bit of CLI, I prefer GUI and clicking stuff :slight_smile:

The router will be directly connected to our ISP's unreplaceable ONU, Huawei EchoLife EG8145V5. I will not set the ONU to bridge mode because, from asking around, it is not stable at the moment, and I'm not really up for troubleshooting and maintaining that. The ISP would do bridge mode-ing with higher plans only (not ours). I'm aware of the double nat issue but don't know how it would affect us.