Iptables MAC Address rules not working when snort is running

Hi,
I'm fairly new to openwrt and I'm currently trying to use it with snort. I would like to be able to block certain MAC addresses from connecting to the network when I detect them misbehaving.

I would use /etc/config/wireless to do this, but I do not wish to interrupt any user connected to the network by running 'wifi reload'.

So I decided to use iptables to solve this with the following rules placed in /etc/firewall.user

iptables -A input_lan_rule -m mac --mac-source MAC-ADDRESS -j DROP
iptables -A forwarding_lan_rule -m mac --mac-source MAC-ADDRESS -j DROP

These rules seem to do the trick, but only when snort is not running. It seems that when snort is running and I have both rules in place that the banned mac address can connect to the network and use it as they please. However, when I only have the forwarding rule in place then the banned MAC can connect to the network but cannot do anything on the network.

I wonder if anyone with more experience than I could let me know why this is happening and how it might be resolved?

@Gozzer, welcome to the community!

What...you have Snort running and blocking traffic?

If so, how?

(I've never heard of anyone getting blocking operational in OpenWrt...or perhaps I incorrectly assume that because you have MAC rule issues?)

I'm guessing it's in the implementation.

1 Like

Thank you @lleachii!
I may be doing something wrong, just trying to learn more.
But currently, I have snort running in inline mode monitoring network between my land and wan. I don't have snort blocking MAC addresses as I don't believe that is possible. But I did manage to get it to block some IP addresses and a few other things.