Internet connection issues with initial settings

Hi there,

I'm totally new to OpenWrt. :slight_smile: I'm trying to configure an Armor 2 as router (LAN/Wifi) behind my ISP's cable modem, which is a (very limited) Vodafone Station.

Here's what I did:

1. Connected the Armor 2's WAN port to one of the Modem's LAN ports.
  2. Flashed OpenWrt 21.02.0 through Armor 2's OEM web UI.
  3. Connected my notebook via ethernet to the Armor 2
  4. Ssh'd into OpenWrt and changed the root password
  5. Visited OpenWrt's Web-UI (Luci), and to me the out-of-the-box setup seems reasonable and working.

I experience the following connectivity issue without doing any changes to the initial setting:

• Out of ~5 subsequent tries to open any internet website, ~3 times it will fail (Browser reports "We're having trouble finding that site" after ~2-3s), 2 times it will load (the initial lookup phase still seems to be slow, it takes ~1 sec until the page starts loading)
  • If I go to "Network" -> "Diagnosis" and try subsequent IPv4 Pings to openwrt.org, ~half the time it works (0% packet loss, ~10ms), half the time it won't work (100% packet loss).

Did I miss something important? Can someone please help me to solve this?

Thanks! Holgi

PS: Here's how my interfaces and devices look like:

Looks like your cable model and your openwrt modem use the same subnet.

Change openwrt to 192.168.16.1 (or something)

1 Like

Alternatively, can the modem actually be just a modem? i.e. does it have a "bridged mode" - because, at the moment it's a router too

... double NAT ... don't do it

Not ideal indeed, but well, if you bridge it then the security/firewall is managed by the other router, also not ideal. What I did on my setup was to put the openwrt router in the DMZ of the ISP router. For me that works good enough and Id rather trust OpenWrt than a router which i have very limited control over...