Installing OpenWrt on Telstra Smart Modem Gen 2?

Recently switched ISPs, and got sent a free modem/router by them, I don't really have anything that I would need it to do, so I'm thinking of maybe using it as a bit of an experimental router.

I'm new to installing OpenWRT, but I'm not new to Linux in general (Been running Gentoo for about a year and a half, been wanting to try out LFS sooner or later).

It's rather hard to find any detailed info about my router, but here is an unofficial manual for it somebody made (Telstra for whatever reason does not have one) https://drive.google.com/file/d/1lDGZ83oZ19Y98rHINe2I7QFqWyaQO9WL/view

Specifications are on page 34. At the very least the chipset seems to be supported. So for somebody whos done this stuff before, does it seem possible on first glance?

1 Like

Section 34.

Well, the wireless isn't the best start. Last time I checked, BCM4360 wasn't supported. I saw some support for devices with BCM4366 on the table of hardware, but not sure how good is the drivers. But it appears that in best case scenario you would have only 1 radio working.

There is no info about the VDSL chipset, but their drivers are rarely available--that's why there is only a small number of supported xDSL modem-routers.

1 Like

If you can pop it open (uart) / and+or it has a foolproof recovery method... then it may be worth a quick tinker... to see if some basic image can be built / loaded...

Efforts other than that are likely going to brick it or waste time... the usb/ram-flash specs/crappy UI/ubiquity make the device possibly worthy of checking out... in a non-wireless/dsl/pots capacity only if need be...

know the cpu architecture? prepared to brick it? willing to try to add serial? / take some pics of the board?

Arcadyan make the Gen 2 smart modem, and they don't provide a GPL dump so you're on the back foot to begin with.

It is running OpenWrt under the hood, but heavily customised.