Installation OpenWrt on Pi 4 with 802.11s support

I'm new to the Raspberry Pi and OpenWrt and trying to install the OS with support for 802.11s. I've read that you need to set the country code in Raspbian first and then go back to Wrt, but I can't find the steps that explain the process. Going back to Wrt isn't clear to me, and after days and literally countless hours of searching, I haven't found a solution....just people providing links to the same old pages that explain the problem but don't help articulate the solution.

Others have asked the question, so apologies if this is redundant, but I don't understand how you can set the country code in wpa_supplicant, flash the SD card with OpenWrt, install the OS and have the country settings preserved.

Some have mentioned Raspbian lite and Luci being involved, but again there aren't a lot of details that clearly explain the steps required. If anyone could lay out the details to install OpenWrt on a Raspberry Pi 4 with 802.11s support, where you set the country code and then go back to Wrt, it would be greatly appreciated...definitely by me and I'm sure by many others looking for the same resolution.

To note, I'm using an external 802.11ac wifi adapter that supports mesh point mode on the Pi, validated with iw phy | fgrep mesh...definitely not trying to use the onboard wifi.

Yes, the setting or selecting country code is not persistent when using Rasbian and rebooting into OpenWRT

OpenWRT configures Country Code in the /etc/wifi/wireless file

What is the exact external 802.11ac wifi adapter ?

Typically you would need to use the LAN onboard wifi to install the additional packages required todo 802.11s as these packages are not installed with the base OpenWRT image, same with the USB wifi dongle

Or

Use chef.libremesh.org when it works and add the additional packages required for your external wifi adapter

LibreMesh auto configured itself as a 802.11s mesh