Image builder quick questions

Hi i'm new to the image builder and i own a APU2
i would like to build my own with:

1. CONFIG_KERNEL_DEVMEM=y (not found this setting yet)
  2. ext4 (only can find fat)
  3. full memory 32gb card usage. (i think i found this setting)

i have the imagebuilder up and running but i have some questions:

1. if i want to test something and flash the image to the device is it posible to break the device, due to wrong settings?
  2. is it posible to just open up the orginal image and change those things, because the orginal image has already the settings i know that work?

thanks in advance for your time, and have a great day!

Not possible with Image Builder. This is a change that requires kernel recompile, and Image Builder is just working with pre-compiled packages from official repositories

Afaik that is needed only if you want to do a BIOS upgrade (flashrom fails if this option is disabled) . Are you sure you need this?

ext4 image should be generated by default

you need to edit the config file manually since Image Builder has no interface to change this.
Afaik you can also just enlarge the partition manually later.

Open the .config file (it is a hidden file by default) in the folder you extracted the image builder in, and edit the line

CONFIG_TARGET_ROOTFS_PARTSIZE=

to have the size (in MB) you want, stay a little lower than the actual storage size, a 32GB flash card is like 31.5-31.8 GB in practice.

Afaik no, this device has a BIOS firmware, it is a mini PC.

Unless you do things that damage the BIOS firmware or chip

no, the settings you mentioned above are not in the image but in build settings.

4 Likes

amazing!!! fairly easy the only thing is the kernel version is offset so i cant install most packages.
But the bios is updated and it was in the right extention and the disk space is 30gb!

Someone know the keywords to change the kernel version? i really dont know where im searching for on google.

thanks in advance