I Live in China and have NAT3 in the PS4

S.O.S
Greetings everyone!
I live in China, I have PS4 and my biggest problem is NAT 3 type network. I've tried connecting directly to the modem that was given to me by my service provider and it didn't do anything. I have Linksys AC1200 with an OpenWRT firmware. Is there any chance of changing it to NAT 2 by adjusting router settings.
I've already done port forwarding.
Will appreciate any sort of help!
P.S. I'm a newbie to networks and stuff, so I don't think I will be able to understand really complicated stuff, but I`ll do my best!
Thank you!

Please share the exact port forwarding you have done.

I guess for it to work, we will need to figure out what exactly PS4 is expecting, e.g. https://www.drivereasy.com/knowledge/ps4-nat-type-failed-solved/

Thank you for your reply! These are the ports I did forwarding to.

• TCP: 80, 443, 1935, 3478-3480
  • UDP: 3478-3479

If possible:
Log in to your ISP's modem and set it to bridge mode, and let your router be the gateway (i.e. avoid double NAT). If you cannot, ask your ISP to do it.
If your ISP gives you CGNAT IP, ask them to give public one.
Enable UPnP on your router.

1 Like

Understood, will try. When a maintenance guy came to upgrade my internet asked him about NAT 3 problem. He "probably" didn`t understand me cuz he said there is nothing that he can do.

Who's your provider? I'm assuming you have FTTP?

The ISP routers don't allow bridge mode but there is an alternative depending on which ISP you're using. If you're using Telecom then you can buy a EPON modem very cheaply maybe around $5-10 (You plug the fibre cable directly into it) then an Ethernet cable to the router and set it up as a PPPoE connection using your ISP login details (easy to obtain by automated phone service or online). Then your router will the only/primary one and you won't have any issues with NAT and the likes. Keep in mind this will break the TV service if you're using the one they give you.