I got a weird Chinese Ceiling AP called “Outengda” openwrt preinstalled

Hello, i just found some random AP called Outengda AP120/AC1200. booted it up and it has OpenWRT preinstalled with Chinese ONLY language in the settings (another language not available). im new in OpenWRT so can anyone please guide me how to flash this AP to new OpenWRT.

i tried to find new OpenWRT that support this board with MT7628, but all these new build starting from OpenWRT 18 only have MT76x8 in their repository. is it safe to use MT76x8 for my device? or i should only using version 17?

Heres some extra info

{
	"kernel": "3.10.108",
	"hostname": "OpenWrt",
	"system": "MT7628",
	"model": "mtk-apsoc-demo",
	"release": {
		"distribution": "OpenWrt",
		"version": "Chaos Calmer",
		"revision": "unknown",
		"codename": "chaos_calmer",
		"target": "ramips\/mt7628",
		"description": "OpenWrt Chaos Calmer 15.05.1"
	}
}

No, you did not - you got a device with some OEM firmware, loosely based upon a butchered up and ancient vendor SDK, which in turn is loosely based around a heavily mutilated and lobotomized ancient version of OpenWrt. While commonly the case, it has very little in common with genuine OpenWrt.

https://openwrt.org/docs/guide-developer/adding_new_device

You'll need to port OpenWrt to your device, if the OEM firmware is 'based on' OpenWrt or nor won't help you with the necessary development work.

7 Likes

What are the specifications, how much ram and flash does it have?

Any FCC ID on the label?

here the specification

Model CA1200
CPU MT7628DAN+MT7613BEN
Flash SPI NOR 8MB
SDRAM 64MB
2.4G Frequency Range 2.4GHz – 2.484GHz
2.4G WIFI Standards 802.11 b / g / n
5G Frequency Range 5.150GHz~5.850GHz
5G WIFI Standards 802.11 a / n / ac

nope, the label on the device only MAC address and Power in specification

well, that's a dead end.

8mb flash devices will be dropped coming next stable release, due to insufficient flash space.

2 Likes

is it possible to use the current version?