"How to" transceivers?

Greetings,

I'm new in the fiber world so I have a question.

I'm thinking in migrating my ISP setup (a 600Mb line through a ONT+router) to a unified device.
Specifically a ZTE ZXHN F601 ( https://www.ycict.net/es/products/zte-zxhn-f601-ftth/ ) to a Mikrotik RB2011UiAS-2HnD-IN ( https://mikrotik.com/product/RB2011UiAS-2HnD-IN ).

But I'm wondering about the transceiver.
Since my ISP deliver me a single fiber cable, I'm not sure if this would work with both my ISP and the Mikrotik: https://elfcams.com/product/module-sfp-125g-monomode-lc-upc-tx1310nm-rx1550nm-2km-ddm

The more I research, the less confident I feel about.
I'm not even sure if I ignore there is more info I should be taking in consideration.

Thank you all.

The ONT has a built in transceiver. Generally you have to use an ONT provided by the ISP as part of the service; you can't buy your own.

2 Likes

He talks about replacing the ISP's ONT.

Sure, and if that's possible or not depends on the ISP in question, the exact technologies in use, the wave lengths, the plug type, multimode vs single mode, and a lot more. There is not one fibre/ ftth implementation, there are many different ones - the most common (gpon) requiring the ONT to authenticate itself to the ISP (and unless you get the access credentials from your ISP or can read them out of the existing hardware one way or another, you won't be able to replace it).

ISPs which 'just' need a media-converter/ transceiver exist as well, but they're rather rare on the consumer market.

Lots of details…

The simple answer is, you can't - unless really know better (and are willing to experiment quite a lot).

3 Likes

I thought that it could be enough just knowing the current ONT model (in the link I posted there is something about the wavelength, but I dont know if has to match perfectly with the transceiver or what...).