How to Setup Captive portal on OpenWrt with Coova Chilli?

Hey, I'm a newbie to setting up captive portals.

My goal here is to set up a captive portal which would require a username and password to log in and then the user will be granted access to the internet.

I've installed Coova Chilli and edit the /etc/init.d/chilli and /etc/chilli/defaults but nothing happens neither is there any tunnel being created for the guest IP network.

I haven't made any changes in the /etc/init.d/chilli.

But I've made the following changes in /etc/chilli/defaults

HS_WANIF=eth0            # WAN Interface toward the Internet
HS_LANIF=wlan0             # Subscriber Interface for client devices
HS_NETWORK=10.1.0.0        # HotSpot Network (must include HS_UAMLISTEN)
HS_NETMASK=255.255.255.0   # HotSpot Network Netmask
HS_UAMLISTEN=10.1.0.1      # HotSpot IP Address (on subscriber network)
HS_UAMPORT=3990            # HotSpot UAM Port (on subscriber network)
HS_UAMUIPORT=4990          # HotSpot UAM "UI" Port (on subscriber network, for embedded portal)

#OpenDNS Servers
HS_DNS1=208.67.222.222
HS_DNS2=208.67.220.220
###
#HotSpot settings for simple Captive Portal
#
HS_NASID=nas01
HS_RADIUS=localhost
HS_RADIUS2=localhost
HS_UAMALLOW=www.coova.org
HS_RADSECRET=xxxxx    # Set to be your RADIUS shared secret
HS_UAMSECRET=xxxxx     # Set to be your UAM secret
HS_UAMALIASNAME=chilli

I think I'm missing something here!!!

I've installed freeradius3 too and its running but whenever I go to

Pls, guide.

Regularly, similar question shows up here on the forum. And regularly I give the following advice:
First, try to get a working coova-chilli installation on real linux, i.e. ubuntu.
And then port to openwrt, to avoid the openwrt"-specialities".
Setting up coova-chilli on real linux is complicated enough, but quite a few docs about it floating on the web.
Steep learning curve, anyway.
For commercial help, PM me.

On Ubuntu, we have to setup hostpad services etc...