How to forward a port after VPN'ing the router

Hola openwrters! I'm very familiar with how to forward a port thru the router; however, I'm no network engineer either. :smiley:

So now that I'm all VPN'ed (I followed this guide) https://support.nordvpn.com/Connectivity/Router/1047411192/OpenWRT-setup-with-NordVPN.htm

forwarding a port from the wan interface to the lan interface just doesn't cut it anymore. I confirmed that if I drop the vpn tunnel on the router, I can forward the port thru, so it's definitely the tunnel wreaking havoc on my forwarding.

Is there a graceful way of going about this, or at worst, can someone point me to where I can just throw up a DMZ and hang this service totally outside of the VPN?

Thanks!

As per guide you followed the VPN interface is assigned to a new firewall zone vpnfirewall.
So if you have already created your port forwards using wan as source zone, they won't work if source zone is vpnfirewall.
The question however is whether you have public IP in the VPN tunnel or if NordVPN forwards you the ports you requested to your private IP.

True. Not sure how it's all working to be honest. But, in my port forward, I did try changing the source to my 'vpnfirewall' zone and back again, to no avail. I've fiddled and fiddled and tried it every which way I know how. Surely there's a way, but I'm not sure what the path is. Thanks!

There is no point in configuring port forward in vpnfirewall zone unless you make sure that you can indeed forward traffic.

Not sure what you're saying there. I did mention I can forward the port successfully if I drop the vpn tunnel.

Let me explain to you then. When you connect to the VPN, you install two static routes for two halves of the internet to be routed via your VPN gateway. This way the gateway of your ISP is ignored.