How to build with no wifi support (Feature request?)

Hi folks,

First post... please be gentle :wink: I have some experience using pre-built images, and i've compiled kernels before (albeit, over 10 years ago that i did it in earnest!)

I'm trying to turn a 4/32 device (Netgear WNR2000v2) into either a simple load balancer (for internal services, not WAN, possibly using ipvsadm?) or possibly a VPN server.

I realise i'm going to have to save some space to do this. I've disabled IPv6 and PPP support via the following options (in make menuconfig):

Global build settings  ---> Enable IPv6 support in packages
Kernel modules  --->    Network Support  ---> kmod-ppp
Network  ----> ppp

This builds an image roughly 200k smaller. Not bad to start with i guess :slight_smile: I've not actually flashed this image to test yet however.

But i would also like to completely disable wifi support (partly to save space, partly for security reasons), making it an ethernet-only device.

I've tried disabling the following (in make menuconfig):

-> Kernel modules                                                                                           │  
   -> Wireless Drivers
kmod-b43
kmod-mac80211
kmod-cfg80211

Firmware  ---> wireless-regdb

I couldn't find any options for disabling userspace wifi configuration tools, so tried to build. But the build fails as follows:

Collected errors:
 * satisfy_dependencies_for: Cannot satisfy the following dependencies for kmod-leds-gpio:
 * 	kernel (= 4.14.167-1-d25c9dcf1a85670894a3aca2dbc1c8e7)
 * opkg_install_cmd: Cannot install package kmod-leds-gpio.
 * satisfy_dependencies_for: Cannot satisfy the following dependencies for kmod-ledtrig-netdev:
 * opkg_install_cmd: Cannot install package kmod-ledtrig-netdev.
 * satisfy_dependencies_for: Cannot satisfy the following dependencies for kmod-ledtrig-default-on:
 * opkg_install_cmd: Cannot install package kmod-ledtrig-default-on.