How to add newer version of RRDTOOL

I'm new to Linux so bare with me. I have a Dragino Yun that I use to track temperature data, I use RRDTOOL to do this, it had RRDTOOL version 1.2.30-3. I recently purchased a Arduino Yun Rev 2 to make another data collector but it only has version 1.0.50-2.
The lesser version is really limited in comparison to the later version and doesn't have some of the function I need. The extra memory required was never a problem on the Dragino Yun (which is hard to find anymore and appears to be phased out). Is it a simple matter of getting the TAR.GZ from rrdtool (v1.2.30), and then manually installing it, or is it more complicated than that? What would be the manual process, I could google it but would prefer to know the process for OpenWrt vs some other version of Linux.

Update, I did find the following at;
http://www.dragino.com/downloads/downloads/motherboards/ms14/Firmware/Yun/Packages--v2.x/Packages

In that file it had the following;

Package: rrdtool
Version: 1.2.30-3
Depends: libc, librrd
Provides: 
Source: feeds/packages/utils/rrdtool
Section: utils
Essential: no
Priority: optional
Maintainer: OpenWrt Developers Team <openwrt-devel@openwrt.org>
Architecture: ar71xx
Installed-Size: 29152
Filename: rrdtool_1.2.30-3_ar71xx.ipk
Size: 29717
MD5Sum: 891fdfd4e4a5fe4388bd0f1c4d6c2160
Description:  Round Robin Database (RRD) management tools (v1.2.x)

I found a copy of rrdtool_1.2.30-3_ar71xx.ipk at the following location;
https://archive.openwrt.org/barrier_breaker/14.07/ar71xx/generic/packages/oldpackages/rrdtool_1.2.30-3_ar71xx.ipk

I also found for the Artheros version (which is what the Yun is AR9331);
https://archive.openwrt.org/barrier_breaker/14.07/atheros/generic/packages/oldpackages/rrdtool_1.2.30-3_atheros.ipk

Got to think one of these would work, now I guess I need to figure out how to install a IPK file.