How can use AES-256?

Hi everyone,

I am a newbie on OpenWRT and I need to AES-256. I wonder how should I use it? Should I wait for OpenWRT-19?

What do you want to do with AES-256? Encrypt a file?

I have wireless modules and I need to communicate with AES-256 crypto

WPA2 with CCMP uses AES, and it is already available on OpenWrt, or did I miss the question?

1 Like

You’ll need to be a lot more specific than that. Manufacturer example code and/or protocol definitions would be a good place to start if these devices aren’t 802.11 standards compliant as their only encryption

1 Like

As others have said, wpa2 with ccmp enforced already uses AES, however I'm not sure if it's AES-256 vs 128. In any case you need high quality 32 byte long keys to make the difference actually relevant. Few people type in 32 character random keys in practice.

It uses 128.

The OP need to be more clear.

3 Likes

Yes ur right but I must use AES-256 :frowning: I wonder is there any way to use AES-256 OpenWRT18? Will OpenWRT19 have AES-256 ?

Since it sounds like your devices aren't 802.11-compliant, you'll have to get specs of the protocol from the manufacturer. The likely also supply code examples, which could be the basis of your code to support the protocol.

My WiFi modules are 802.11ac and 802.11n but I wonder openWRT18 can support AES-256 I heard about that openWRT19 will have but I don't know :frowning:

How do your modules support AES-256? At least as far as I know, only 802.11ac supports AES-256 and GCMP, not 802.11n.

Follow what mac80211 and hostapd support. OpenWrt doesn't write the encryption and protocol portions of the stack.

If you really want AES256, please consider using TLS instead of hacking 802.11.

I think what needs to be clarified here is that there is no standard that uses AES256 and so you have no hope of making it work for WiFi because even if you can make it work for the access point there are zero clients that will be able to use it.

WPA3 supports AES192