HoTo resize Overlay BPI R3 on sdcard

Dear all

I have now invested days for this solution, I hope I can save you some time. And I'm aware that I'm close to absolute noob, so it's fair to blame me.

For me the official guide did not work (https://openwrt.org/docs/guide-user/additional-software/extroot_configuration)

My setup: I have bought in the past multiple Kingston 256GB SDCards and I prefer to use them as main device. together with the BPI-R3 with case, 8 antennas and cooling fan and HA Skyconnect USB-Stick together with home assistant on docker.

Fast forward:

1. Download the newest version of the SD-Image (https://downloads.openwrt.org/snapshots/targets/mediatek/filogic/openwrt-mediatek-filogic-bananapi_bpi-r3-sdcard.img.gz). IMPORTANT: Use a recent download! Because its a Snapshot and no stable version, dependencies can be corrupt within hours!

2. Extract the .img. Use e.g. 7ZIP.

3. Write image with Win32-Imager or Balena Etcher onto SD-Drive
    4.Plug in the SD-Card and make sure, that the setup switches at the BPI-R3 are set to SD-Card (all 4 switches are down/0/off or however you want to name it).
    5.Start and connect via SSH/Putty (192.168.1.1) -> WebUI/Luci is not yet installed/available

4. username root

5. set new password with
    passwd

6. Install the essential tools by entering
    opkg install block-mount kmod-fs-ext4 e2fsprogs parted

7. Enter
    parted /dev/mmcblk0
    Here is the first glitch: BPI R3 connects MMC and SDCard via the same "Interface", so the SDCard will everywhere look like MMC. Furthermore you can never access both at the same time.

8. It will ask you to fix the partition table to use the whole available space. choose
    fix

9. enter the print command
    p
    Seven partitions are shown. Number seven is the relevant and is named "production"

10. Resize the partition
    resizepart 7
    ignore 2 warnings
    set a reasonable amount for the partition (I did set 100GB on my 256 GB SDCard)