Help with configuring VLAN

Hello,

I'm new to OpenWrt and VLANs, I was able to make the VLANs work as expected but I'm worried I made some configuration mistakes.

I've done everything on LUCI and not on command line like SSH

The router is an Archer C7 with 4 lan ports and 1 Wan port

Interface

cctv - eth1.4 (lan port #4 for cctv)
Protocol: Static Address
IPv4: 192.168.40.1/24

srv - eth1.3 (lan port #1, 2, 3 for workstation server)
IPv4: 10.1.30.1/24

LAN - br-lan
IPv4: 192.168.20.1/24

WAN - eth0.2
Protocol: DHCP Clint
Pv4: 192.168.1.1/24

Switch

Switch "switch0"
Enable VLAN functionality [x]

Firewall

for lan firewall i added Allow forward to destination zones : srv

for cctv firewall i added Allow forward to destination zones : wan

for srv firewall i added Allow forward from source zones : lan

Questions

Are the configurations secured/correct?

When I'm on the workstation server 10.1.30.1, I can ping the ip of the cctv 192.168.40.1 and the ip of the lan 192.168.20.1, would it be more secure if they can't ping the workstation server ? how to do it?

What other settings I need to configure to safeguard the network?

Thank you!

Would you be able to explain what you want to achieve? Is this server serving only your local network, or do you access it form outside? Do you have other users on the LAN, and you want to deny them access to the server? Or is the purpose to prevent guests (in which case you could have the server on your LAN and make a separate guest network)?

1 Like

Thank you mhegab for the questions, sorry I didn't explain the settings properly, I'm new to openwrt and VLAN, before I just use the default ISP router/modem.

I like to separate the following:
server - separate from the cctv, and other unauthorized devices (guests)

cctv - separate from the server, and other unauthorized devices, allow access from the internet using mobile app