Help to fix OpenWrt builds for Mofi3500

Context: I'm new to building OpenWrt (and using git) though I have experience using other version control and building other stuff... kernel for custom video drivers, other distros, etc. I would like to improve the install experience for one particular model (USB port does not work and WAN port does not work).

I have several questions but first of all...

I followed Build system - Usage. It says "it is recommended that you work with the latest sources" and suggests git pull. But for initial testing (e.g. so I can still use opkg pointed at the 18.06.1 download server), I want a build matching the 18.06.1 release - kernel 4.14.63, so I did git clone https://github.com/openwrt/openwrt.git -b openwrt-18.06 (as this was the only 18.06 branch name I could find; I forget how I was looking for branch names though).

My router is Mofi3500 so I set (and did no other changes in make menuconfig):
target: "MediaTek Ralink MIPS"
sub-target: "RT3x5x/RT5350 based boards"
target profile: "MoFi Network MOFI3500-3GN"

The build went fine and installed to the router fine, but in the firmware made from this was labelled (in /etc/banner) 18.06-SNAPSHOT r7390-dd6d554 and the kernel was 4.14.81.

So, how do I point git at the exact 18.06.1 release?

(and maybe this should be a little more described on the Build system - Usage page?)

For the WAN issue, to get a fix directly into the firmware image (not just fix it manually after install) I've experimented with two ways of fixing this:

1. target/linux/ramips/dts/MOFI3500-3GN.dts (mediatek,portmap = <0x3e> instead of 2f as it is now), this seemed to fix which port would be used as WAN, but had other issues, probably firewall changes would be needed to match.