Help selecting a router to use as a repeater for an ALFA AWUS 036h with rtl8187 chipset

So I am new to openwrt and I have googled as much info as I could, but not exactly finding the right answers, so if any of you could give me a hand I will be greatfull.

I have an awus 036h with an rtl8187 chipset, the idea is to use it with a router conecting it via usb to repeat the signal for a guest house thats 50 yards away. I have had trouble finding info on which routers are compatible to conect via usb to the awus 036h.
I havent been able to understand if any router with openwrt will work and I just have to add the drivers for the rtl8187 to make it work?
(https://forums.hak5.org/topic/50389-rtl8187-alfa-network-awus036h/)

If the answer is yes(any router with openwrt will work) what economic router should I get?
In my local market the one I have seen with a USB port are 1) Tp-link Tl-wr840n , 2) Tp-Link Tl-Mr3020 3) Tp-Link TL-MR3420
but Im not sure any of those will work because of the 4/32mb flash ram.

the other option would be to buy online from aliexpress but it would be more complicated because of my country`s regulation on importing routers and because of COVID-19 shipping is not available.
4) MT7620N chip 300 Mbps WIFI wireless router 8MB flash memory 64MB RAM suitable for Padavan / Omni II / OpenWRT / OS / firmware

Two regular desktop routers can usually link reliably at that distance if the signal has a clear line of sight.

You're right don't buy anything that is 4/32. Look at the GL-Inet models they are distributed in many countries and have large memory.

If buying something new specifically for this purpose I would specify a CPE which has built in long range wifi, and not try to use a USB "long range" adapter.

1 Like

Ok thanks for the tips,
Just out of curiosity what if I used a tp link 3020 v3 that has 8/64 mb, would it work with the alpha auws 036h acting like if it was an alfa r36?

saw this guy doing something similar but with a 036NH