Help needed configure router in existing network

Hey everyone,
I am brand new to OpenWrt with honestly not much knowledge but the attempt to learn a lot. I recently figured out that my AVM FritzBox 7320 does not get updates any more, so I gave it a shot and was able to already flash the device and install OpenWrt. Now I at the configuration stage but I think I need a little help to get where I want with my device.
I tried to read in the docs and searched through the web, but I cannot get my head around things like NAT and WAN, ... and how i should configure the interfaces.

But first let me tell you wich dream scenario I have: Till now I used my FritzBox as the access point for all my devices and I always thought, that I capsule my own little network from other devices in the network (correct me if I am wrong). I always plugged the FritzBox into another router via a ethernet cable. I had to do this, cause I am often not the owner of the first router or the internet contract (I have to move every few years). But I wanted to get easy access to my RaspberryPi, TV Stick, Phone, Pc and capsule it from other people who use the first router (which is conneted to the provider).

As I said I already tried a few things, but till now I was not able to configure my FritzBox with OpenWrt to create a subnetwork where my devices wont be seen from the first router.

I would be very greatful if anybody could help me or give some advices, further readings, etc.

This might be helpful:

1 Like

Hey, thanks for your super fast reply. So am I understanding it right that I want a set up with the OpenWrt as cascaded router behind another router (double NAT) ?