Help adding support for FortiWifi 50e

Hello everyone,
I've managed to install OpenWrt on a Fortiwifi 50e using the firmware of the supported Fortigate 50e, but i'm having problems adding the wireless card in the mini pci slot.
Is there a way to add a pci slot to the firmware? This is the only difference between the 2 models Fortigate and Fortiwifi, everything else works perfectly.

Thanks in advance

FortiGate 50E has no mPCIe cards and slots, so I didn't enable PCIe slots of Marvell SoC and didn't add Wi-Fi related packages. To enable mPCIe slots, dts of 50E needs to be modified.

How can i do it?
I'm sorry but i have no experience in this

PCIe slots can be enabled by adding the following code to dts.
(Note: I don't know which slots are actually used on FortiWiFi 50E, the following code enables all slots on Marvell SoC.)

&pciec {
	status = "okay";
};

&pcie1 {
	status = "okay";
};

&pcie2 {
	status = "okay";
};

&pcie3 {
	status = "okay";
};

&pcie4 {
	status = "okay";
};

I've edited the dts file, built the new firmware without error during compile process, but when i try to flash the new firmware says that there are no dtb files

My bad, didn't see that dtb file wasn't compiled, now everything works fine, thanks

1 Like

Hi would you care to share the firmware or how you got it to work?

I tried the simple way :slight_smile: by uploading the FG50E firmware to a FortiWifi50e and got an incorrect binary message at the end of the TFTP process... which is kind of expected since it's not exactly the same HW.

Thanks for your efforts, btw!!

To install the firmware you need to open the image.out and rename the FGT50E in FWF50E, with this method you can actually install openwrt,but the wifi card will not work
If you need the wireless you have to compile the firmware by adding the lines shared before in this post ti the DTS and adding some packages