Having trouble installing over TFTP

Hello! I'm new to OpenWRT (and flashing routers with custom firmwares in general). I have a TP-Link Archer A7 v5 router that according to the wiki, can only be flashed over TFTP. I setup a tftpd on a server, with the -factory.bin renamed to ArcherC7v5_tp_recovery.bin, and confirmed I can download it over TFTP. However, when I configure it with the ip 192.168.0.66/24 and hook it up directly to the router, I still see my SSID pop up after rebooting it and holding the reset button, per the instructions. So all of that being said, my questions are:

1. Do I need to set a specific router/default gateway, or does it not matter?
  2. Should I be plugged into the WAN port or one of the 4 LAN ports?
  3. Is there a way to confirm that the flash is happening, and that it was successful?
  4. Do I need to use another method to get the router to boot to the TFTP client?

In case it matters, the checksum of openwrt-19.07.4-ath79-generic-tplink_archer-a7-v5-squashfs-factory.bin is 6f3e365ad9f20839034a594aad531e9608cae154. Thank you!

No, but IP and subnet mask need to be correct.

No, unless explicitly mentioned on the device page (no).

You can bump the verbosity of your tftpd server or you can use wireshark/ tcpdump to check what's happening on the wire (bootp/ tftp requests, data transmissions, etc.).

You can connect a 3.3V serial console, both to check what's going on and to explicitly invoke tftp, bootm and associated functionality.