GL-AR750 wireless connection issues

Hey,

firstly I'm very sorry if this is the wrong forum for my questions and if that is correct it would be great if you could direct me to the correct one.

Now to my problem:

I'm using OpenWrt version 18.06 on a GL-AR750 and the wpa_supplicant to connect to an 802.1x network.

I'm not very experienced with networking, router configuration or linux, because of that I configured the supplicant and network using a combination of testing and a guide I found online.

For the most part I don't experience any problems regarding connectivity or speed, but sometimes I get randomly disconnected from the network and need to restart the wpa_supplicant process.

This seems to happen at random intervals without any obvious reasons. Sadly I can't find (or understand) any information about the error in the systems log.
Because of that I wasn't able to try any troubleshooting on my on.

It would be great if anyone could help me out with that issue.

1. can you be any more specific about random intervals?
  2. can you share the exact settings you've used with relation to wireless deviating from a default config?
  3. can you let us known the exact version...
ubus call system board | grep 18

or just check in luci... ( at the bottom of every page )

Could be mean alot of things....

1 Like
  1. it seems to happen once or twice per day nearly every night and sometimes around 10-12am. In the last few days it occurred more frequently at other times in the evening.

2. My wireless network is set up as default, I just changed the wpa_supplicant config to fill in the needed login information.

3. Sorry I hope this is the full version number: OpenWrt 18.06.4 r7808-ef686b7292

1 Like

The other side is running on what? ( hardware / os / anything else special )
Are you using other clients with the AP and all they are/have always ran fine?

1 Like

I assume AP means access point?