General questions about profiles and limited internet browsing

Hello,

I am trying to find a way to perform this process on the system(OpenWRT):

When the user connects to the network the system should notify the user(MAC & IP) connection to my backend(maybe a python application running somewhere)

The backend will perform a command on the system to put the user in a specific profile(I don't know if it is possible to assign profiles to the users)

There will be just two profiles:

1. To allow the limited internet browsing to specific sites(Not sure if we can configure a sites whitelist)
  2. To allow the full internet browsing

I just want to know if this is possible in some manner, I am new with OpenWRT and willing to use it as my main network router.

Appreciated is any help.
Thank you
Martin

2 general approaches, also used for kid-protection: Use a transparent (intercepting) proxy, i.g. squid-proxy, or do "selective" DNS. The DNS-based approach is easier to implement, but also easier to be bypassed. Usage of VPN on the client will bypass both approaches.
Note, that "whitelisting" of sites should take into consideration the linked sites. Not so trivial to evaluate.

Are you trying to achieve something like 802.1x MAC authentication? If the script will reside on the router, you can just use a macfilter into the wireless configuration.

Filtering/authenticating by the MAC adress only does not bring any security to the network, and can be easyly bypassed. You may consider some additional authentication if not already in place.

1 Like

I was thinking if there is something more "native" inside OpenWRT, instead of using external tools such like squid or even a DNS based approach.

What would be ideal is to put the client in a profile such like the Mikrotik users profiles, then restrict the navigation based on each profile.

The VPN shouldn't be a issue because there could be a whitelist to block the VPN servers.