Fritzbox 7520 low SQM Speed

Hey, I'm new to OpenWRT. I spend the last 2 days trying to learn and understand how to setup the router, I basically want to mitigate bufferbloat in my network. I have a 250/40 VDSL connection (somehow I'm able to get 47 up). I use the intergrated Modem (VRX518) and basically everything works fine and it can hold around 230mbps Up and 40 down. Now I have setup SQM, nomatter what I put in "Download speed (ingress)" and which "Queue setup script" I use I can't really get above 150mbps down. Upload speed is perfectly fine. The best result I got working so far was with fq_codel + simplest.qos, which got me around 150mbps and 38mbps up and low jitter (A+ 0ms). I still want to try higher Speeds which I just can't achieve. And help would be apprectiated!

SQM config:

config queue 'eth1'
	option enabled '1'
	option interface 'dsl0.7'
	option download '180000'
	option upload '38000'
	option qdisc 'fq_codel'
	option script 'simplest.qos'
	option linklayer 'ethernet'
	option debug_logging '0'
	option verbosity '5'
	option overhead '34'

A 716 MHz cortex a7 (sqm is mostly single threaded, so is PPP, so the other three cores don't help you much) isn't exactly a performance monster, 150 MBit/s with PPPoE and sqm/cake is already more than you can expect from this hardware.

5 Likes

ohh okay, thank you for the quick response anyways! There is no possible way to improve performance to push the max out of it by using external dsl modem (tbh idk if dsl modem offload work to cpu) or editing config for cpu clocking as an example?

External modem might help, but as far as I can tell the FB7520 going for ~50-60 EUR second hand is already one of the cheapest VDSL2 modems capable of using profile 35b (required for most 250/40 services). I actually use a FB7520 as bridged modem (running OpenWrt) in front of my primary router, and the 7520 is a great modem for my 100/40 line...