Flash > Perform Reset = adguardhome package resurfaces!?

I perform a reset:
**Luci > system > backup / flash firmware** > [perform reset]
(supposed to wipe all packages)

i check installed packages:
**Luci > system > software > installed**:
adguardhome 0.107.36-1 ~8.59 MiB
RESURFACES!???

i click [remove]... removes it... i do a reset and it comes back! Wheres it coming back from!? Cache? I see the cached size go down after deleting a package.. but how does it resurface after a reset??

I had adguardhome installed... it always crashes after a few days... i have a Dynalink DL-WRX36 with 868MiB total ram.

Goal: reset and wipe all packages to default openwrt installation.

thank you...

Have you read this?

Yup, but i only see the return to stock... i just want to return to a clean openwrt installation without lingering packages that were installed over time? I also see netdata and a few other packages that i installed over time...

this posts buy psherman states all packages would be wiped Will "reset to defaults" remove all software? (software not working) - #2 by psherman

https://openwrt.org/docs/guide-user/troubleshooting/failsafe_and_factory_reset#soft_factory_reset

Try firstboot.

tried firstboot && reboot and same behaviour

checking installed pacakges... netdata and adguardhome appear in the list under installed. I clicked [update lists] and clicked adguardhome [remove]

notice the cached size of the memory before and after.

firstboot -y && reboot
?

ha sorry, i mispoke

ran on separate lines to not miss the output

firstboot
## prompt = Y
reboot

So, try it as written in the wiki.

firstboot -y && reboot

When you do the sysupgrade, do you not get an option to keep settings you can opt out of?

its the same thing, it just speeds up the command bypassing the prompt..

but i tried it anyway... same result

netdata and adguardhome still popup after reboot in:

http://openwrt.lan/cgi-bin/luci/admin/system/opkg# > installed > filter=adguard

When you do the sysupgrade, do you get an option to keep settings you can opt out of?

sysupgrade is my last resort... a bit more involved but giivng that a shot now... will report back

1 Like

However it is worded, you want it erase everything/keep nothing.

yup yup :slight_smile: saw that in the wiki.. just triple checking im downloading the right firmware etc

1 Like

IT WORKED!!!
i used the sysupgrade -n flag to wipe all configs

here are my full sysupgrade notes for future use on my specific router

### USE LAN CONNECTION

### set 2 variables
DOWNLOAD_LINK="https://downloads.openwrt.org/releases/23.05.3/targets/ipq807x/generic/openwrt-23.05.3-ipq807x-generic-dynalink_dl-wrx36-squashfs-sysupgrade.bin"; SHA256SUMS="https://mirror-03.infra.openwrt.org/releases/23.05.3/targets/ipq807x/generic/sha256sums"

### download and check SHA256
cd /tmp;wget $DOWNLOAD_LINK;wget $SHA256SUMS;sha256sum -c sha256sums 2>/dev/null|grep OK

### if output is: openwrt-23.05.3-ipq807x-generic-dynalink_dl-wrx36-squashfs-sysupgrade.bin: OK

### -n will wipe all configs
sysupgrade -n /tmp/openwrt-23.05.3-ipq807x-generic-dynalink_dl-wrx36-squashfs-sysupgrade.bin
### output
Sat Jun 29 19:42:00 UTC 2024 upgrade: Commencing upgrade. Closing all shell sessions.
Command failed: Connection failed
root@OpenWrt:/#
Connection to 192.168.1.1 closed.
1 Like

Glad it worked.

thank you very much for pushing me to do the sysupgrade. I learned to do it properly with the sha check... and got over my fear of flashing since im scared of bricking.

1 Like

This topic was automatically closed 10 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.