First steps for building firmware for a new device?

Hello there!
I am a electronic engineering student. That means that I know the basics about programing, but I don't have the same amount of experience like you, guys.
So, for my research, I was trying to figure out what are the steps that are necessary to take for making a build of Openwrt for a new device.
I tried to read the developer guide ( https://openwrt.org/docs/guide-developer/start ), but it has so much info that I got lost. Haha.
So, If anyone with experience with this can help me... What steps did you take to make a new build for a new device?
Did you needed the source code of the original device's firmware, or maybe some hardware schematics? And if you have both... What's next?

Greetings from Paraguay! :slightly_smiling_face:

This really mostly depends on the exact device you are talking about. In the best case, e.g. when a vendor does it's own electronics, of course, one has full access to them schematics but likely no source code yet. Resp. in such case one usually starts with source code from a reference device (e.g. sometimes provided by chip vendors) or, alternatively, just any already supported devices which is as close as possible Hardware wise. However, the more common use case, especially for hobbyists, is to take a commercial device and try to port OpenWrt to it. In this case, likely no schematics are published anywhere publicly. With "good" vendors one may get access to more or less useful GPL sources which can definitely come in handy. Anyway, the first step is usually to get access to the bootloader via some serial UART header using an FTDI USB-to-serial adaptor or the like. And a next step might involve network- aka TFTP-booting an initial RAM disc based mage. This has the advantage that the device's flash does not need to be touched yet but stuff can somewhat easily be tried.

2 Likes