Firmware upgrade? Or leave it alone!

I have a Chinese brand router, that came with OpenWRT pre-installed. It's worked OK for a year, but I occasionally get dropped connections. I was wondering if an upgrade in firmware might help. Here is the current info.
Model - YOUKU YK1
Firmware Version - LEDE Reboot SNAPSHOT r4594-6bdb662deb / LuCI Master (git-17.194.28316-2224714)
Kernel Version - 4.9.37

How should I proceed in identifying the correct firmware? Or would the consensus be to just leave it alone!

2 Likes
ubus call system board
2 Likes

Alright! I was hoping there might be a command like that lurking around.
"kernel": "4.9.37",
"hostname": "pretzel",
"system": "MediaTek MT7620A ver:2 eco:6",
"model": "YOUKU YK1",
"board_name": "youku-yk1",
"release": {
"distribution": "LEDE",
"version": "SNAPSHOT",
"revision": "r4594-6bdb662deb",
"codename": "reboot",
"target": "ramips/mt7620",
"description": "LEDE Reboot SNAPSHOT r4594-6bdb662deb"
BTW, I've been using Linux for 20 years, so I can find my way around a command line, configure networking etc. WRT I'm new to.

5 Likes

Wouldn't it make sense to just wait for 19.03?

Update to 18.06.2 don't wate for 19.x because it could get pushed back. you never know! If you do update to 18.06.2 pleas dont keep settings as some config files have changed.

3 Likes

We want 19.x please :slight_smile:

Thanks to all for your replies, and thanks for the warning about not keeping the config, otherwise I would have checked that box. The upgrade seems to have worked, however there is a weird issue which I'm in the process of trying to fix:
I set up the wifi, network and DHCP ranges and that all seem to work fine. I connected a few clients and they were assigned a private IP address in the correct range. 10.10.10.x