Firewall blocking SSH

I am new to OpenWRT. I have installed the latest version of 18.06 on an old Linksys E3000 router. Installation was fairly easy as compared to your competitors. I have for now disabled the WIFI on this router as it would interfere with my primary router WIFI. I have set up the OpenWRT up to use LAN only under IPv4 and one host Raspberry Pi computer. I have let DHCP be the handout for the IP's. My objective is to open the command line in the router to later set up DNS. My problem is the use of SSH to the router is being refused by the router firewall. I have tried reading the LUCI instruction for the firewall and set up what I believed to be the correct procedure to open the firewall for an SSH from my Raspberry Pi. The following is from LUCI Firewall menu selection to tab:

Firewall Traffic Rules:
Name: SSH access
Match: IPv4 tcp From any host in lan to any host port 22 in any zone
action: accept forward
Enable is checked

After this instruction was saved and applied, I rebooted the router and verified the rule was in place as the first rule of the list of rules on the Firewall Traffic Rules. I tried again to login via the raspberry pi and was rejected again. So, I need a little help here to get to the command line.

What you are doing here is letting SSH from LAN zone to any host in any other zone, while what you want is to allow SSH to the device itself.
By default everything is allowed from LAN zone to the device itself and to the WAN zone.
So, if the Raspi is connected on the LAN interface, it can SSH to the Openwrt.
If it is connected on the WAN zone, you need to allow it.

3 Likes

Thank you for responding to my question. I set up my OpenWRT to the configuration you show in the reply. Seen below as follows with the match changed all other remain the same:

Match: Any tcp
From any host in wan
To any router IP at port 22 on this device.

There is no change in the SSH execution.