Fancy Bears versus LEDE-OpenWrt

The FBI and Department for Homeland Security (DHS), in association with the UK's National Centre for Cyber Security (NCSC), have issued a joint Technical Alert about malicious cyber activity carried out by the Russian Government. In summary the alert says:

Specifically, these cyber exploits are directed at network infrastructure devices worldwide such as routers, switches, firewalls, and the Network Intrusion Detection System (NIDS).

So a simple question, how does the Lede community rate the robustness of Lede-OpenWrt in the light of state sponsored cyber attacks?

You can read the Techncal Alert here: https://www.ncsc.gov.uk/alerts/russian-state-sponsored-cyber-actors-targeting-network-infrastructure-devices

Fancy Bears who? https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fancy_Bear

I'm not going to represent that I am an expert on the attack and its vectors.

The most likely weakness is lack of proper configuration of the device; its firewall, exposed services, and login credentials. Failure to follow best practices here means any "hardening" of OpenWRT (or any other OS) isn't going to help. This also includes updating the kernel within days of a new release (if possible), as well as keeping all packages current. This is something of a challenge with OpenWRT, though is significantly better now than it was a couple years ago.

The second most likely weakness, in my opinion, is that relatively "soft" services are provided by default OpenWRT installs, primarily due to the storage constraints of the devices involved. Upgrading to OpenSSH over dropbear, in my opinion, is a valuable step. This also should involve preventing "root" login through SSH.

Protocols targeted in this scanning include:
• Telnet (typically Transmission Control Protocol (TCP) port 23, but traffic can be directed to a wide range of TCP ports such as 80, 8080, etc.);
• Hypertext Transport Protocol (HTTP, port 80);
• Simple Network Management Protocol (SNMP, ports 161/162); and