Extroot; flash firmware best practice

I am relatively new to this platform and recently had to flash firmware on an extroot system for the first time. Apparently the extroot doesn't carry through between upgrades even minor ones such as 17.1.4 > 17.1.5.
Unless I've missed something there're no instructions in the documentation that provide steps for users with extroot enabled devices on what to do at the time of upgrade. Here at the bottom there's mention of 'release' vs. 'trunk', but that shouldn't apply to most user who just want to flash the latest stable upgrade release in LUCI? If I am wrong on any of this, my apologies and mabye some one can point me to the appropriate documentation. In the meantime maybe some experienced useser could provide feedback, if the following is sound:

Prerequisite:

• List of packages that were previously installed on extroot
  • Current backup of device configuration
  1. Backup device configuration
  2. Apply new firmware
  3. Follow instructions on how to set up extroot
  4. Reinstall desired packages
  5. Restore configuration from backup

All should be well in opwnwrt land?

Thanks

Cheers

1 Like

The "tricky" thing is that there are two configurations you need to preserve, one is that on the flash file system that says "load the extroot" and the other is the "running" configuration on the extroot itself. sysupgrade only manages the "running" one.

Even if you built an image with the extroot config in the ROM, I'm not sure where the preserved config would be restored by the upgrade process in an extroot configuration, to the flash, or to the extroot.

Sounds like your approach is pretty much on

1 Like

@z0rk -

Your process is exactly what I do. To make it easier, I have written scripts to do this, making it easier and faster to 'restore' to my desired state. Depending on my device, I use either 2 or 3 scripts: