External IP addresses valid?

I’m using Archer C7 V5 running on 19.07.3 , connected to ISP via default WAN and Firewall settings
I’m pretty new to OpenWRT , but my observations are:
In status-> routes I see an strange external ip 169.254.16.120 linked to interface br-lan, is this normal?

In the system log I see very frequent the following:

daemon.notice netifd: wan (1516): udhcpc: sending renew to 10.160.231.129
Is this normal behavior for openwrt connected to WAN/internet?

169.254.16.120 is not an external address, it's a Link Local Address. Although I don't see any link local addresses in my routes, I can imagine that it's normal that you see them.

Yes. You get your WAN IP by DHCP, and that has to be renewed regularly.

2 Likes

This is not normal.
Please use ssh to connect to the device, run the following command uci export network, and copy-paste the output here in preformatted text.
grafik

Really?

user@machine:~$ ip -4 neigh
169.254.39.114 dev enp2s0 lladdr 00:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx STALE

(And from the router, I also see 21.4xxx.xxx.xxx IPs.)

I noticed this behavior after one of my phones upgraded to Android 10...and allowed randomized MAC addresses. I haven't verified it yet.

1 Like

Does it include matter if the neighbor cache contains odd addresses? If the route table doesn't contain a route to the address on the specific interface then the cache entry won't be used anyway I guess.

BTW the neighbor cache entry probably was added after receiving an ARP announcement (gratuitous ARP) from a device (possibly android as indicated above).

2 Likes

Yes really, because it means that some host didn't get the settings from dhcp and started broadcasting with the link local IP.

These can be from the wan side.

1 Like

Seen on br-lan...with the MAC of the device...identical to its 192.168.xxx.xxx entry?

(Granted, this may not be the OP's issue. I digress, as not to hijack the thread.)

1 Like

See below output of uci export network, can you see something strange?