Establishing a 802.11s mesh

Hello folks,

ambitious openwrt newbie here.

I'm planning to establish a 802.11s mesh with 3 Zyxel WSM20 (Multy M1).
One of the devices should work as the router and will be connected to the modem of my ISP. The additional 2 devices are supposed to cover my whole flat (maybe one will be enough).

I've read a lot in the last hours, of course also
https://openwrt.org/docs/guide-user/network/wifi/mesh/80211s and https://openwrt.org/docs/guide-user/network/wifi/mesh/mesh11sd

Assuming I would follow the configuration shown in the mess11sd article with

A typical mesh interface configuration in /etc/config/wireless would look something like:

config wifi-iface 'mesh0'
     option device 'radio0'
     option mode 'mesh'
     option encryption 'sae'
     option key 'secretmeshkey'
     option disabled '0'
     option network 'lan'
     option mesh_id 'PublicFreeMesh'

The Default mesh11sd configuration file looks like this (/etc/config/mesh11sd):

config mesh11sd 'setup'
     option enabled '1'
     option debuglevel '1'
     option checkinterval '10'
     option interface_timeout '10'
   config mesh11sd 'mesh_params'
     option mesh_fwding '1'
     option mesh_rssi_threshold '-80'
     option mesh_gate_announcements '1'
     option mesh_hwmp_rootmode '3'
     option mesh_max_peer_links '150'

I have a few questions

1. General understanding: Is the mesh established this way 'only' the communication channel between the mesh points or what I see when I scan for wifis on my end device?
  2. Do I have to establish one or more wifi interfaces first or is it sufficient to establish a mesh in this way?
  3. In the default configs above is set which radio to use but not which wifi protocoll (a/b/g/n/ac/ax). Where do set this? Or isn't it necessary?

Can you help me?

Thanks in advance