Effect of Curl 8.4.0 on OpenWRT

What will be the effect of Curl 8.4.0 release on OpenWRT release? Will there be an update in OpenWRT as well?

Once it’s released, here is the process followed.

@RuralRoots
Thank you for your response.

I am fairly new to OpenWRT. Does this mean, at some point, OpenWRT team will release a version that has the issue fixed?

Technically speaking there doesn't need to be any effect on OpenWrt and its release schedule. curl/ libcurl is not preinstalled on any OpenWrt image, so it is -by default- not affected by bugs in libcurl at all.

As far as OpenWrt is concerned, curl/ libcurl is 'just' a (very popular) user-installable addon package (although it is often a dependency of more complex addon packages), which can also be updated accordingly (push a fixed version to the package repos, let its users update it, done). Given the kind of special situation of upgrading packages on OpenWrt, it might be sensible to 'encourage' the package upgrade indirectly, by providing new maintenance upgrade images, but there is no technical need to do so.

It will probably depend on how serious the issue really is (also in the context of its typical usages on OpenWrt) and how invasive the fixes are going to be (ABI changes, backportability). I would expect that fixed curl/ libcurl packages will be provided relatively quickly for all maintained branches (so not 21.02.x and earlier!, but anything more recent) - and upgrading those will fix the issue. If and when new maintenance releases will be provided then depends on the details (again, nothing inside the default images is using curl/ libcurl, so updating the default images is not necessary, doing so just indirectly 'encourages' (~forces) users to re-install all their user-installed addon packages, including fixed versions of curl/ libcurl).

3 Likes