Easytether startup and check script

I'll give a little background first. I'm a truck driver, I use easytether to provide internet access to all of my devices in the truck, not only for work, but also for my side projects and my schooling. I originally started with using a Hak5 WiFi Pineapple Nano, which recently went belly up. So I went ahead and bought a new Version 5 TP-Link Archer C7 AC1750, installed OpenWRT and installed easytether. Through my experience with the Pineapple, and my subsequent experience now with the TP-Link, easytether likes to have occasional issues, to which I'm accustomed to at this point. So I wrote a script that would run at start.

#exec creates and writes all of the outputs of the commands in the
#script to a log file zmodlog.txt
exec &> /root/zmodlog.txt

#easytether-usb is started
date +"%D %T"
/usr/bin/easytether-usb

#to ensure that all of the commands in the while loop execute properly
#an update to all packages on the router is executed through opkg
opkg update

#the next two lines echo that the script will sleep for one hour
#then the script will sleep for one hour
date +"%D %T"
echo "Sleeping for one hour"
sleep 3600

#Beginning of the while loop
while true
	do
		PID=`ps | grep easytether-usb | grep -v grep | cut -d" " -f2``
		kill -9 $PID
		/usr/bin/easytether-usb
		date +"%D %T"
		sleep 3600
	done

As I've come to find, most of the time, this works. However, once in a while the starting of easytether doesn't work, and I have to manually SSH into the AP and restart it. I've tried to remedy this by adding two crontab jobs, one at 5am, and one at 9pm, both rebooting the AP. This has had some success, but the restart of easytether still fails at least once a day. I was thinking about nesting an if statement within the while loop. Unfortunately, I'm uncertain of how I should go about it. I've written a rudimentary test script.

A=`ps | grep easytether-usb | grep -v grep | cut -d" " -f12`"

if [ "$A" = "/usr/bin/easytether-usb" ]