EA8300 poor download speed (upload is normal)

Hi, I am a beginner to OpenWRT. I have a linksys EA8300 and I am having issues with the download speed over the 5 Ghz band. My internet speed should be 500mbps up and down, which I do get consistently over a wired connection. However, over a wireless connection, I can only get about 250mbps in a direct line of sight only about 3 feet from the router. My upload speed is still a full 500mbps even in other rooms. When I run these tests, I only have one active device on the network. It might be worth noting that I live in an apartment with crowded wireless space, but I have made sure that I have an ideal DFS channel selected (I have verified that it is actually using this channel and nobody else is), and a good signal to noise ratio. I have tried switching between 20/40/80 Mhz bandwidth among many other things as well. What could possibly be the problem here? I am beginning to wonder if my router is just not very good. I am new here so forgive me if I am missing important information, I will be happy to provide more if needed.

That sounds about right. Each 5Ghz radio will give you around ~360Mbps if your device can handle it. What device did you use to test it?

I have tried multiple devices. I used a samsung galaxy note 9, a Windows laptop with an Intel wireless adapter, and a desktop PC with a TP-Link TX3000e wireless adapter, all with the same results. Again, I was able to get the full 500mbps upload speed, but only 200-250 down.

Try running iperf3 from the PC with the TX3000e to a wired laptop to measure the throughput the TX3000e to EA8300 is capable of. I did this with my EA8300 between 2 wired laptops and saw 400Mbps peak, 360Mbps average (between two EA8300's in a mesh about 15ft apart at -50dBm of signal).

Ssh into the router and post your network and wireless configs. Strip out any personally identifying info like passwords, MAC addresses.

cat /etc/config/network
cat /etc/config/wireless