Dumb AP with VLAN and DHCP relay

Hello, I'm new to OpenWrt and need some help with the configuration.

I have a main router which serves the following networks on all (lan) ports:
10.0.10.0/24 -> management network, no vlan -> all network devices (switches, ap's...) are accessable here
10.0.20.0/24 -> main network, vlan 20 -> laptops, tablets... (wired + wireless)
10.0.30.0/24 -> guest network, vlan 30 -> wireless clients only
10.0.40.0/24 -> iot network, vlan 40 -> isolated iot clients (wired + wireless)

Now i want to add my TL-WR710N with openwrt_22.03.0 as dumb access point, only for iot devices. The following is configured:

• Port "eth1 (WAN/LAN)" is configured as DHCP client and gets an 10.0.10.* address from management network

I need some help with the following configuration:

• Ports "eth0 (LAN)" and wifi (radio0.*) shall be bridged and every connected device shall be on the iot network with vlan 40.
  • All connected iot devices shall get their ip via DHCP from the main router via vlan 40 network

the last point is the tricky one, I don't really know how to configure.

This should be possible by running your APs as dumb APs with VLANs and multiple SSIDs. But there are some questions, first:

1. Does the main router already have these VLANs setup?
  2. What is the hardware (brand + model) of the main router and what firmware is running on it?
  3. Is switch 1 a managed or unmanaged switch?
  4. What is the hardware (brand + model) of the APs 1 and 2? and what firmware is running them?
  5. What firmware is running on the TL-WR701N?

Hi psherman,

The image is just a simplified view of my network:

1. yes, it's still running as seen in the image (without the TL-WR710N)
  2. Unifi UDM Pro SE with firmware 2.x
  3. doesn't matter for the question, because it's not involved. but all my switches are Unifi US-8-60/-150
  4. doesn't matter for the question, because they're not involved. but all access points are different Unifi APs