Dumb AP, Bridged AP and related ideas

There seems to be a vital step missing in the following documentation:

https://openwrt.org/docs/guide-user/network/wifi/bridgedap
https://openwrt.org/docs/guide-user/network/wifi/dumbap

That missing step would seem to be bridging the wireless network with an Ethernet adapter. Without that, I fail to see how this is going to work. But then of course I am looking at it from the perspective of my hardware (GL-AR150). That said, the "command line" version of the "Dumb AP" configuration does mention the bridging, but it's not mentioned in the LUCI configuration, nor in the "Bridged AP" procedure at all. Here's how it looks in LUCI for my device. 31%20PM

I'm happy to submit changes to add this, but before doing so I wanted to try to get some verification that, as a newbie, I've not missed something.

Please advise.

Thanks,
~S

Your intuition is good, yes, one typically bridges the wireless AP interface to the backhaul interface, be it wired or wireless.

Personally, I use VLANs on my wired interfaces or the "gretap" interfaces that I use for wireless backhaul, so no untagged packets on the line. I also put my management interface on one Ethernet adapter and "the rest" on the other. That way if something bad happens with "the rest", I still have management access. I also use the switch to allocate the "blue" (WAN) port for all the wired traffic (management and VLAN trunking) and the "yellow" (LAN) ports bridged to one of the virtual interfaces as untagged, wired access for "dumb" wired clients.

...on some devices, you cannot bridge to a Wireless device in Client mode (i.e. Broadcom, and I believe Intel)...unless I misunderstand what you are attempting to bridge and why.