Different mtd layout for Linksys WRT32X and WRT3200ACM

can someone tell me what is the difference between these two flash layouts?
https://openwrt.org/toh/linksys/linksys_wrt32x#flash_layout
https://openwrt.org/toh/linksys/linksys_wrt3200acm#flash_layout

basically what is the mtd9 in the 3200 version that is occupying so much space?

hardware seems the similar.

also, does that mean that when installing openwrt (or even OEM firmware) each main and alternative partition have 80MB in 3200 and 123MB in 32x?

is that a backup firmware partition?

I am a noob in this area and my question is NOT for hardware development but just curiosity.
this also is the case in my personal router (wrt1200ac).

#1 Factor -- Where does the OEM boot loader expect the kernel to be?

Unlike a "PC", there's no MBR/GPT/EUFI boot. The boot loader loads code from a specific address, then executes it. Hopefully, it is something like a kernel :wink: otherwise ...

#2 Factor -- Where are "cal" data stored?

While possible to move, dangerous if an error is made.

mtd9, the 86 MB "syscfg" partition, is present on one layout, but not the other. Trying to "reshuffle" the partitions so that the space can be split between firmware and alt firmware is challenging due to #1 -- can't easily relocate the kernel.

1 Like

do you know what that syscfg stuff is?
cant be all config files can it?
and if it is some firmware why doesn't 32x have it?

At least on the EA8300, it seems to be space that the OEM firmware uses that is preserved over boots. I would guess it has to do with Linksys' cloud management, possibly for OTA upgrades, but that's a guess.

so 32x doesnt have that but 3200 does?
I am not asking as a developer (I am not one)
I am asking as a user about "wasted" space.

Yes, from your perspective, Linksys "wasted space" in how they partitioned the device. They partitioned it for their firmware and services, not OpenWrt.

It's partitioned that way in upstream Linux as well