DHCP clients don't have internet access

My Setup
I have OpenWrt install and mostly working on a Linksys 1900ACS v2. I am using it as a router.

My internet is provided by a cellular hotspot, fed to a Netgear wireless extender. The extender ethernet is out to the WAN port on the router.

WAN, hotspot, and extender are on 192.168.129.0/24 subnet.
Lan is on 192.168.128.0/24.

The issue
All works perfectly for any clients with a static IP.
DHCP clients connect and have access to devices on both subnets (WAN and LAN). However, DHCP clients have no internet access.

I am a newbie to networking. Please let me know of any additional info I can provide.
TIA

What parameters are you using for the static clients? What parameters do the clients receive via DHCP?

For static I use:
An IP outside of the DHCP range set on the router (I have tried one within the range as well, both work)
Subnet: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 192.168.128.1 - the router lan IP

Clients receive the same - ip within the DHCP range, of course.

If your network is IPv4 only, be sure to turn off the IPv6 DHCP server on the OpenWrt LAN. This a different tab from the checkbox which only affects IPv4 (and must be left on).

First you need to differentiate whether the clients truly lack a route to the Internet, or it is that they can't DNS. From a non-working client, try pinging a numeric place on the Internet versus pinging by name.

Since your WAN network is not 192.168.1.1, it should work with a default configuration. At least one thing has been changed from the default configuration here.

Please post your config files (in/etc/config/) into a code block </> to preserve formatting:
Network
Dhcp
Firewall

Much easier to review the configuration than to guess at this type of problem.

1 Like

I am able to ping a public ip from a DHCP client. So, you must be correct regarding DNS.

Apologies for not including previously... As a newbie, I didn't know what my particular issue might warrant a need for

/etc/network