Date Name for Releases

Since we're at 19.07 release, is there a plan to transition to a YY.MM date format for the naming of releases? eg. 21.03.

I've been around the forums quite a bit, but I'm not a developer, so maybe this has been discussed. If so, apologies up front. That said, it seems like this is the trend and a good idea since it is a very easy and intuitive method to know if your OS is current, or not.

1 Like

This has always been the case with the release numbers corresponding to the branching dates:

3 Likes

Makes sense from a developer perspective.

From an end-user perspective, and the individuals responsible for maintaining their devices, it was only available as a stable release on 20 Feb 2021.

So is the release name more important for the developer work, or the end user / maintainer? I can't answer for the former, but I can for the latter.

How are end users affected by release names?

3 Likes

So how is a user supposed to operate with that:
Browse to https://downloads.openwrt.org/releases/ and pick the release with the highest branching date.
I guess the underlaying issue might be that it is 2021 now and a branch/release date in 2019 seems a bit out of date. But just look at e.g. Ubuntu, there releases are also named after the release/branch date, and the LTS version are "good" for 3 years maintenance and more.

3 Likes

It is a visual notification of the the timeliness of the OS running on their system, that is all. As an example, if I am a sys admin taking over a new position, unfamiliar with OpenWRT, and I saw that my router was running on version 19.07, I might think that my router is running software almost 2 years old. That would be alarming, especially for router software.

Of course, from a technical standpoint, end users are not affected at all.

Well, in a sense 19.07 is 1.5 years old, that is true, but there have been 7 interim updates (mostly security) in between hence we moved from 19.07 to 19.07.7...