Custom packet filtering

Hi all, I am completely new to networking in general and openWrt in particular. So please be gentle with the newbie :wink: I am excited to learn though and have been impressed by the quality of the openWrt project.

As I am learning more and more, the list of features that I want to try and implement grows. From reading the forum, it seems the traditional way of adding features to my router is to use the processes in the openWrt distro or add packages. However, some overlap, and I was wondering if I'd be better off in writing a custom packet filter, that would apply my own code to all packets, rather than relying on different packages/processes in openWrt.

I feel it would be simpler and easier for me to start with, if I can simply access all inbound and outbound packet, and apply my logging and logic to it. That would be easier than getting my head around many new processes, or at least that would allow me the most control.

What is the most efficient way to do so in openWrt?

Also, there is the latency consideration. Say I write such a custom packet filter, and make it do something simple, like reject all outbound TCP/UDP packet that have a destination IP in a harcoded list. Is it possible to write such a packet filter that would add as little latency as doing the same thing with iptables/fw3?