Current state and maturity of the current code. Is there a issue list?

Hi
I'm a PHP developer and have previously used FreeWRT and OpenWRT. Have been coming back to the site, github-pages and now the forums but have not found information about this.

As a outsider have I tried to figure out the current state of the project, what issues that need to be addressed before you branching or tag a alpha/beta. Is there a such a overview of issues that need to be addressed before doing so? I have been checking at the git commit and I see a lot of code change but that is about all it tells me. Any plans of tagging a alpha?

Keep up the good work.

Hi @steinmb Welcome to LEDE.

And you have identified the next big question for LEDE. A while back, I wrote:

As I watch the announcements of patches fly by on the lede-dev list, I am astonished at the backlog of work that is getting resolved before my eyes. But with all this change, I wonder if the project will ever hit a stable point that is "safe to use at home", with a spouse and kids who will rely on it...

We all await a decision of when LEDE will be Good Enough to declare a RC1, that will lead to a stable long(er) term supported version, and to a set of predictable release cycles.

I know that the core developers are thinking about this, but I'm not aware of any public discussion yet.

There was a recent note about setting up an experimental branch for the code, but that doesn't address the flip-side, a stable branch.

It seems to me that there are two approaches to take:

1. Date-based: We'll release RC1 with whatever's working on a specific date (say, 1 Jan 2017)
  2. Goal-based: We need to have kernel 4.x plus feature A, B, W, and Z working to declare RC1

Either way would be fine for me: either is a path toward something we can begin to put into production. (And that stable release provides a springboard for further experimentation: once the base system is reliable, it's more fun to try one single wacky enhancement...)