Cubietruck upgrading issue

Hi,

I am new to OpenWrt. Installed OpenWrt 18.06.01 on a Cubietech Cubietruck board. The first installation is just writing the right OpenWrt image to the SD card in Windows, then configured it from the default IP address 192.168.1.1 and it went smoothly. When the 18.06.02 came out I tried to upgrade it by re-write the 18.06.02 image to the same SD-card, but after reboot the router I can't connect to the default IP address 192.168.1.1, after some trying I managed to connect my browser at the IP address of the previous installation (192.168.3.1) Isn't it supposed to be a new installation and everything should be at the default? (I even tried to delete every partition and MBR on the SD card and re-write the 18.06.02 image but the same). Also after I connected the browser at the old IP address the packages are still using the 18.06.01 version 4.14.63-1. The firmware displayed as 18.06.02. Also I can't remove/reinstall the new packages for my USB Ethernet dongle in 18.06.02. Something I did wrong? What's the right way to upgrade OpenWrt? I tried to search Google and this forum but didn't get much.

Please help. Thanks.

The output of mount may provide some clues, along with that of cat /proc/mtd

1 Like

It depends on the way you chose to upgrade.
Did you upgrade from Luci or SSH? There are in both cases options to keep or discard the current configurations.

I do not really understand: Did the sysupgrade upgrade the kernel, at least, but NOT installed packages ? Or did it no upgrade at all ?
Asking, because I already filed a bug report regarding incomplete sysupgrade, or no sysupgrade at all.
As you are also using SD, it might be a similar case.