Cross Compiling GRPC for MIPS architecture for OpenWrt

Hi Folks,

This is my first time cross compiling, of any software, GRPC. I have followed the instructions in the MakeFile of GRPC fro cross compiling

Below are the series of commands I have followed to execute

1. export STAGING_DIR=~/Documents/openwrt/staging_dir/toolchain-mips_24kc_gcc-7.3.0_musl

2. export PATH=$PATH:$STAGING_DIR/bin

3. make HAS_PKG_CONFIG=false CC=mips-openwrt-linux-gcc CXX=mips-openwrt-linux-g++ LD=mips-openwrt-linux-ld LDXX=mips-openwrt-linux-g++ AR=mips-openwrt-linux-gcc-ar STRIP=mips-openwrt-linux-strip PROTOBUF_CONFIG_OPTS="--host=mips-linux --with-protoc=/usr/local/bin/protoc" GRPC_CROSS_COMPILE=true GRPC_CROSS_LDOPTS="-L$STAGING_DIR/lib -L$STAGING_DIR/lib32 -L$STAGING_DIR/lib64" GRPC_CROSS_AROPTS="--target=elf32-little"

I am facing the below error

mips-openwrt-linux-ld: unrecognized option '-pthread'
mips-openwrt-linux-ld: use the --help option for usage information
Makefile:3204: recipe for target '~/Documents/grpc_cross/grpc/libs/opt/libaddress_sorting.so.7.0.0' failed
make: *** [~/Documents/grpc_cross/grpc/libs/opt/libaddress_sorting.so.7.0.0] Error 1

Any help would be appreciated

Thanks

The normal way is to create a openwrt compatible package file and let the default sdk build the package.
https://openwrt.org/docs/guide-developer/using_the_sdk

Hi,

If I understand it correctly, you are mentioning about package which contains a Makefile and set of other files and when run with make command it creates as ipk package to install.

I already have that file but the way we are doing it is, it requires some shared libraries for the specific architecture like

$(INSTALL_BIN) $(PKG_BUILD_DIR)/libgrpc++.so.1 $(1)/usr/lib/libgrpc++.so.1
$(INSTALL_BIN) $(PKG_BUILD_DIR)/libgrpc.so.4 $(1)/usr/lib/libgrpc.so.4

These shared libraries I need to generate from cross compilation which is where I am facing these errors.