Cross compiling and SDK binaries

OpenWrt Project: Build system – Installation

OpenWrt Project: Using the SDK

Somewhere I thought for sure I had seen a statement that a 64 bit Linux host system is required when building and cross compiling, but can I find that statement now? No!

I'm new to OpenWRT and I'm currently setting up a Virtualbox VM to compile some packages and coming across system requirements that I'm not sure about. I'd like to make minor Wiki edits to the two Wiki pages at the top of this messages to clarify my questions, which hopefully would benefit others.

1. Regarding OpenWrt Project: Using the SDK and the verbiage "precompiled SDK", is it a true statement that all binary SDK downloads -- all target devices, everywhere, everything -- require a 64 bit Linux host system?

2. In order to do development on a 32 bit Linux host system, is it a true statement that the SDK must be compiled from source?

3. From a developer's point of view, is there any part of building/cross-compiling OpenWRT that absolutely, positively cannot be done on a 32 bit Linux host system? (Not asking about targets, only about the host.)

4. Is it a true statement that it is recommended the host system be based on Ubuntu or Debian?

Knowing answers to the above will allow me to figure out how best to word my changes.

If you want to use the imagebuilder or the SDK, you must use a linux/ x86_64 host system, because the binaries shipped prebuilt in those tarballs are x86_64 binaries.