Creating a secure home-network as a newbie. Hardware/Software questions

Hello,
first of all, i am completely new to this whole OpenWRT and OpenSource software/hardware stuff, but i am willing to get into it.

The first project for me as an webdeveloper was to create a home-webserver environment (Ubuntu Server 18.04). Went well so far, but on my way throught a lot of forums an other articles i went deeper an deeper and now i want to build up a secure homenetwork for my family.

Specs:
I live in Germany
I have a 400mbit/s internet connection with cable router/modem (compal ch7466ce) from Vodafone
1 Desktop (LAN/Gigabit)
1 Webserver (LAN/Gigabit)
1 TV (LAN/Gigabit)
1 Laptop (WLAN/2,4Ghz)
2 iPhones (WLAN/5Ghz)

What i want to to.

1. Replace Routerfunction of CH7466CE in Bridgemode
  2. Buy and integrate new router with OpenWRT
  3. Run DNS for home domain
    4, Run DHCP for WLAN Devices
  4. Run OpenSource firewall
  5. Use VPN Service for all my homenetwork devices
  6. Create WLAN for 2,4/5GHz Devices (perhaps guest network)

My questions:
Since i am new to this OpenWRT World i thought an easy to manage device (like Archer C7 AC1750) would fit my purpuse but then i came across some issues

Is it correct that the nat performance of this type of routers cannot handle 400MBit WAN to LAN without any "snapshot stuff" being done? (I picked up those info while reading alot of stuff and didn't have the time get in deeper)

Is the Archer C7 capable of running vpn service with a good downspeed?

I read alot about hardware the last 2 days and assume that i need a stronger router then ARCHER C7 to get the most out of my 400MBit bandwidth aspecialy when using VPN. So hardware whise i stumbled upon Linksys WRT3200ACM-EU.
Pretty expansive i think, but if it fits all my need i will go for this device.

What downspeed is to be expected when using VPN service link NordVPN or others on WRT3200ACM-EU?

Is there a free posibility to use vpn servers? or are all of them monthly paid?