Creating a guest LAN (not WLAN)

Hi all :slight_smile:

I'm not really experienced with configuring OpenWRT, and alas, I didn't find any howto for what I want to do. Maybe, someone can point me in the right direction.

What I'd like to achieve is similar to the "Guest LAN" feature of the AVM Fritz-Box. An isolated LAN (not WLAN – for a guest WLAN, there are plenty instructions) which has access to the internet, in which all clients can communicate – but not reach the "real" LAN.

I have an Ubiquiti EdegeRouter X, with 5 LAN ports (that are accesible as different devices eth0 to eth4 if I see this correctly; no switch).

The default preset behavior is almost what I want:

The router fetches an IP address from the real router (192.168.178.0/24) when I plug a cable in the first (eth0) port. A device connected to one of the other ones (eth1 to eth4) gets an IP address of OpenWRT's default subnet (192.168.1.0/24) and is able to reach the internet.

What I would like to change (and don't know how) is:

• The clients in this LAN should be isolated from the "real" LAN. At the moment, not only the internet is reachable, but e.g. also my "real" router (192.168.178.1). Only the internet shold be accessible.
  • The "sub"-router should be accessible from the "real" LAN (192.168.178.0/24), but not from the internet, and not from the isolated sub-LAN (192.168.1.0/24).

What's the most elegant/easy way to do this? Thanks for all help!

This is very similar to a guest wlan.

1. Split the switch using a separate vlan for the guest network.
  2. Create a separate interface for it.
  3. Setup firewall for forwarding according to your plan.
3 Likes

I think such a split is already the default setup: The WAN interface refers to the first (eth0) port, and the LAN interface is a bridge for the other ports (eth1–eth4).

Thus I wonder if I need a VLAN? Can I use the default setup (by only tweaking the firewall settings)?