Connect a WRT3200acm's to internet through it's WAN port

Hi, I'm new to OpenWRT.

I have a working set up (using the original firmware) where my wrt3200 ACM is connected to the internet through its WAN port, plugged into an Xfinity router, which has been configured into bridged mode.

I successfully installed OperWRT latest version, but was not able to connect the router to the internet through the WAN port (all the rest was working fine), and did not have the switch menu available to try hacking... So luckily I was able to revert by booting the original partition from ssh.

Can someone kindly advise what I may be missing, to have my setup working with OpenWRT as well?

Thanks for any help!

Should work out of the box unless...

1 your WANs MAC for some reason differs between stock fw and openwrt

2 you're double NATed, and the primary router uses the same LAN subnet as your 3200, running openwrt.

Thank you for your prompt response!

Yep... I too was expecting it to work out of the box, just like with the original firmware.

The WAN Mac is exactly the same in openwrt as in the original firmware.

No double NATing, just the connection to the bridged router to Xfinity cable on one side and my internal 192.168.1.1 network on the private side.

Also, I did not changed anything in the setup, in fact reverting to the original partition just restored everything working like as if I didn't even flash openwrt.
Moreover, I also did not do any fancy changes in openwrt: I just installed it, configured the administrative password and set up the Wi-Fi connections (letting them disabled).

In the interfaces I can see are the LAN, WAN and Wan6 interfaces (btw, no switch menu!!). The WAN has the same Mac address but does not have any IP address assigned to it.
All the LAN/WI-FI interfaces work okay in the private Network... Just the WAN does not connect to the internet...

Thanks again for any help!