Configuring 2nd router as partial switch

Dear all,

I'm still a layman when it comes to OpenWRT, so I would appreciate it if someone could help me. My problem is that I have a set-top box that needs to be connected directly to the internet. What I would like to know is (a) if it's possible to configure one port of my OpenWrt router in such a way that my STB will work (b) and what the optimal configuration would be.

I've included a picture of my setup (in red what I still need to configure):

Setup

Regards,

Define directly... ( no nat, 1nat, nodualnat?, upnp etc. ) if your not sure, just explain what works for it.....

From your post it is not clear how ROUTER2 connects to ROUTER1... did you mean wifi?

1 Like

Dear Wulfy

I'm not sure, but what I understood is that my set-top box needs a 10.x.x.x. ip adres to be interactive and by enabling the router it will end up with a 192.189.0.x?

To answer you're second question they are not connected whatsoever and don't need to be (but it would be "nice to have").

Regards,

• What do you get out of the modem? Is it terminated already? I imagine yes. So what IP you get from there.
  • How many free ports you have in the switch box?
  • Do you have two OpemWrt routers as your figure suggests or do you mean that you want to "split" it.

As a side note, for the first router I would put the PCs and Nas directly on the router and put the printers on the downstream switch.

1 Like

If this is a TV box and service supplied by your ISP, often it works though VLANs on the modem port. The TV service is a separate network inside the modem. Once you know the VLAN numbers you can configure OpenWrt so the built-in switch in the router can switch the TV VLAN out to one of its Ethernet ports which you would connect to the TV box.

1 Like

you only need 1 device that will do the routing
make sure your modem is dump & not setup to do any routing itself